Skip to content
World Medical SchoolsIndependent directory

Primary medical qualification (physician entry)

Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS)

Kamuzu University of Health Sciences School of Medicine and Oral Health · Blantyre, Malawi

OperatingInternational applicants acceptedDetailed record

Qualification and identity

Exact qualification
Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 13, 2026
Qualification purpose
Primary medical qualification (physician entry)
Awarding institution
Kamuzu University of Health Sciences
Faculty / school
Kamuzu University of Health Sciences School of Medicine and Oral Health
Campus
Blantyre
Country
Malawi
Entry route
School-leaver / direct entry Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026

Program structure

Duration
5 years (MSCE entrants join a foundation year, Year Zero) Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026
Intake
Not verified
Graduation requirements
Not verified
  1. Foundation year (Year Zero) · Year 0

    MSCE entrants join in the foundation year; A-level entrants join in first year

    Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026
  2. Clinical training · From Year 3

    Transition from science to clinical training in third year

    Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026

Teaching language

Classroom, clinical and patient-interaction languages are recorded separately when the school states them.
  • English — Program languageMedium of instruction and examination.Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026
  • Chichewa — Patient interaction (clinical)International students may need some Chichewa to interact with patients, guardians and communities in clinical years.Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026

Admissions

Requirements are shown as the school publishes them, per applicant category. Examination requirements are never assumed from the country.

Domestic and general requirements

  • Required prior qualification · RequiredSix MSCE credits including English with a minimum of 3 points in Mathematics, Biology, Physics and Chemistry or General Science (joins foundation year)Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026
  • Grade requirements · OptionalA-level candidates: at least 3 passes at grade C or better in Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics or Physics (join first year)Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026
  • Application route · RequiredGeneric undergraduate applications go through the National Council of Higher Education (NCHE)Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026

International and non-EU applicants

  • Language requirement · Not required · International applicantsNo proof of English proficiency needed when applyingSource: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026

International admissions: International applicants accepted — Separate tuition for SADC and non-SADC students; generic undergraduate applications through NCHE. Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026

Deadlines

Deadlines belong to a stated intake year and are never rolled forward. A past date is shown as passed.
Deadlines not verified.

Tuition and fees

Amounts are shown in the original currency, with their basis (per year, semester or whole program) and the student category they apply to. Different bases are never added together or compared.
CategoryAmountBasisYear / stage
Undergraduate genericSADC region$5,722.58basis not stated—Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026
Undergraduate genericNon-SADC region$8,722.50basis not stated—Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026
Undergraduate mature entrySADC region, mature entry$6,000basis not stated—Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026
Undergraduate mature entryNon-SADC region, mature entry$8,000basis not stated—Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026
  • Malawi Medical Council registration — $150 for the whole program · MandatorySource: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026

Living costs, travel, insurance and clinical-stage charges are separate from tuition. Comparing costs across countries.

Clinical training

  • Queen Elizabeth Central Hospital — Teaching hospital

    Blantyre

    Placements arranged by the school

    Main training hub; almost all programmes take place here.

    Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026
  • Kamuzu Central Hospital — Teaching hospital

    Lilongwe

    Placements arranged by the school

    Third-year MBBS students train here.

    Source: kuhes.ac.mw · verified October 14, 2026
  • A published hospital affiliation is not a guarantee that every student is placed there.

Recognition and accreditation

National authorization or recognition

Permission from the national education or health authority to run the program or award the degree.

Not verified yet

Institutional accreditation

Accreditation of the university or institution as a whole.

Not verified yet

Medical-program accreditation

Accreditation of the medical degree program by a medical-education accreditor.

Not verified yet

Directory listing

An entry in a directory such as WDOMS. A listing is not accreditation or endorsement.

No directory reference recorded

WorldMedicalSchools.com does not accredit or approve schools and is not affiliated with WDOMS, WFME, ECFMG, WHO or any regulator. A missing record means we have not verified it, not that it does not exist. To check Kamuzu University of Health Sciences School of Medicine and Oral Health in the World Directory of Medical Schools, search search.wdoms.org directly. How recognition works.

ECFMG Sponsor Notes

No ECFMG Sponsor Note recorded. ECFMG does not accredit schools; a Sponsor Note describes ECFMG's own requirements for graduates of particular years. Check the WDOMS profile of the school for current wording. Sponsor Notes explained

Sources and verification

Last verified October 13, 2026.
  1. https://www.kuhes.ac.mw/bachelor-of-medicine-bachelor-of-surgery/ · Official program page · verified October 14, 2026
  2. https://www.kuhes.ac.mw/international-students/ · Official admissions page · verified October 14, 2026
  3. https://www.kuhes.ac.mw/medicine-and-oral-health/ · Official program page · verified October 13, 2026

Suggest a correction