Primary medical qualification (physician entry)
Degree of Master of Science in Medicine
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Linköping University · Linköping, Sweden
Läkarexamen
Qualification and identity
- Exact qualification
- Degree of Master of Science in Medicine Source: liu.se · verified October 13, 2026
- Qualification purpose
- Primary medical qualification (physician entry)
- Awarding institution
- Linköping University
- Faculty / school
- Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Linköping University
- Campus
- Linköping
- Country
- Sweden
- Entry route
- School-leaver / direct entry Source: liu.se · verified October 14, 2026
Program structure
- Duration
- 360 hp, full-time Source: liu.se · verified October 14, 2026
- Intake
- Autumn (HT) and spring (VT) terms Source: liu.se · verified October 14, 2026
- Graduation requirements
- Not verified
Teaching language
- Swedish — Program languageSource: liu.se · verified October 13, 2026
Admissions
Domestic and general requirements
- Science prerequisites · RequiredGeneral entry requirements plus Biology 2, Physics 2, Chemistry 2, Mathematics 4 (or Mathematics D)Source: liu.se · verified October 14, 2026
- Grade requirements · OptionalSelection: 67% by grades, 33% by HögskoleprovetSource: liu.se · verified October 13, 2026
- Other requirement · OptionalAlternative selection for 12 places based on at least 2 years' half-time healthcare work experience, ranked by HögskoleprovetSource: liu.se · verified October 14, 2026
Examinations and language tests
- Högskoleprovet (Swedish Scholastic Aptitude Test) — Optional33% of places; also ranks the work-experience quotaSource: liu.se · verified October 13, 2026
International admissions: International applicants accepted — Tuition fees apply to students from outside the EU/EEA and Switzerland Source: liu.se · verified October 14, 2026
Deadlines
- Application period 15 Sep - 15 Oct (VT 2027) · Spring 2027 entry15 Sep - 15 Oct (for VT 2027)Source: liu.se · verified October 14, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis | Year / stage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studieavgift (period not stated)Students from outside the EU/EEA and Switzerland | SEK 1,278,000 | basis not stated | —Source: liu.se · verified October 14, 2026 |
Living costs, travel, insurance and clinical-stage charges are separate from tuition. Comparing costs across countries.
Clinical training
Recognition and accreditation
National authorization or recognition
Permission from the national education or health authority to run the program or award the degree.
Not verified yet
Institutional accreditation
Accreditation of the university or institution as a whole.
Not verified yet
Medical-program accreditation
Accreditation of the medical degree program by a medical-education accreditor.
Not verified yet
Directory listing
An entry in a directory such as WDOMS. A listing is not accreditation or endorsement.
No directory reference recorded
WorldMedicalSchools.com does not accredit or approve schools and is not affiliated with WDOMS, WFME, ECFMG, WHO or any regulator. A missing record means we have not verified it, not that it does not exist. To check Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Linköping University in the World Directory of Medical Schools, search search.wdoms.org directly. How recognition works.
ECFMG Sponsor Notes
No ECFMG Sponsor Note recorded. ECFMG does not accredit schools; a Sponsor Note describes ECFMG's own requirements for graduates of particular years. Check the WDOMS profile of the school for current wording. Sponsor Notes explained
Sources and verification
- https://liu.se/utbildning/program/mala3 · Official admissions page · verified October 13, 2026